Posted by: kitkat | April 3, 2004

Discussions at a typical teen book group meeting and April break!

Today we had our teen book group meeting, and as usual there was never a dull moment. The discussion starts on the book topic, but usually ends up as a conversation about one of these things:

1. Johnny Depp

2. Orlando Bloom

3. how girls are better than boys

4. How nobody in the group (except me) knows who David Bowie is

I feel sort of bad, because there is only one guy in the group, while there are four girls (if you include me). I think that we really need to get some more guys to join. So I’m pleading with you guys to come forward and join the teen book group. Its really not that painful and you get free pizza and pop (although I am NEVER buying mountain dew again).

This summer, since the library is not open on Saturdays, we, as a group, are thinking of changing the day. I also thought that since everyone needs to do a lot of summer reading, we could discuss summer reading books instead of the fantasy books we normally read. That way, everyone could be more prepared when they have papers or tests in the fall.

On a separate note, I reorganized the teen area so that it should be a little more comfortable for everyone to sit and enjoy themselves. The new books are displayed so that you can see them a lot easier, and everything looks much brighter and more appealing. I will try to post some pictures later.

I’m really excited about April Vaction, because we are going to have quite a few programs for teens:

Monday, April 12 there will be Chess from 2 – 4 pm.
Tuesday, April 13 we will have our monthly Anime/Manga group from 4 – 5 pm
Thursday, April 15 we will make hemp bracelets from 3 – 4 pm
and finally on Friday, April 16 there will be a Poetry Slam from 2 – 4 pm.

These programs should be a lot of fun, so if you have nothing else to do, I encourage you guys to come and hang out at the library!

Categories

