Posted by: kitkat | April 12, 2004

Zen and the art of chess for one person plus a poem for you!

I didn’t think that many people would come to my Chess for Teens program, but I had hoped for more than this. Zero teens came to the program. I think that it would have been fun. I had sheets to show everyone how to make the basic moves, four boards for people to use, and music to listen to. I thought that chess was making a comeback and it was becoming really popular with all ages. Oh, well. I hope that the other programs have more draw. We still have hemp bracelets and a poetry slam. Both programs are open to junior high and high school students, which means I’d better see you there.

I thought that in honor of the Poetry Slam (and national poetry month) I would show you one of my favorite poems in high school.

The Red Wheelbarrow
William Carlos Williams

so much depends
upon

a red wheel
barrow

glazed with rain
water

beside the white
chickens.

Categories

