Posted by: kitkat | May 13, 2004

Some books and comics I’ve read recently

I finished reading the book for the teen monthly book discussion. We read Ender’s Game by: Orson Scott Card. I will admit that I usually don’t read science fiction books. I usually prefer fantasy writers like Mercedes Lackey but I really liked this book. It’s a near future science fiction with children who are bred and trained to fight bug aliens. The book specifically goes into the mind of Ender, which gets pretty scary sometimes. He’s only a little boy, but so much is expected from him, that there are times where he almost breaks down. The book’s not a complicated book, but it’s a fun and quick read. If you are looking for a break from school work, try reading this book.

I have also been reading the book The Woman in the Wall by: Patrice Kindl. So far, I’m really enjoying it. The book is about a young girl that no one ever notices and, for the most part, never notice. She seems invisible to others and when her mother wants to send her to school, she decides to hide in their huge house and so she makes her own house within her mother’s house. So far, it has been quite an unusual book, but that has also made it a very interesting book. Some things are hard to believe, like a 7 year old using a table saw or being able to fit into a purse. However the book has kept me interested.

I just started ordering some new marvel comics. I bought Runaways about six young friends who discover their parents are all secretly super-powered villains. The shocked teens find strength in one another. Together, they run away from home and try to stop their evil parents’ terror. I also bought Sentinel about a teenager who is trying to discover what it means to be a hero in the 21st century. Both comics look really good. If they go over really well, I’m going to try and order some more.

Categories

