Posted by: kitkat | June 2, 2006

National Spelling Bee

Last night was the finals of the Scripps National Spelling Bee. I didn’t get to watch it, but I read the article about it and saw a slideshow of pictures taken. I got excited just hearing about it. Unfortunately for me, I’m a terrible speller, so I wouldn’t have gotten anywhere in a spelling bee.

A thirteen year-old girl from New Jersey, Katharine Close, won the spelling bee by spelling the word ursprache, which is defined as a language that is the recorded or hypothetical ancestor of another language or group of languages. Wow. I can’t understand that, let alone spell it! She received a REALLY big trophy and over $42,000 in cash and prizes. Amazing. It once again makes me wish I could spell properly. Not that it would help me win a contest now… I don’t think they have spelling contests for adults.

Categories

